Log in

Empowering the Voice of Kansas Pharmacy

Log in

About the awards

The Kansas Pharmacists Association presents the following awards yearly at the KPhA Annual Meeting and Trade Show, which generally takes place at the end of August. For questions regarding awards, call 785.228.2327.

Presented by Pharmacists Mutual and the Kansas New Practitioner’s Network
This award is given to an individual with an entry degree in Pharmacy received less than 10 years ago and practicing retail, institutional, or consulting pharmacy in the year selected. The award winner is also selected based on his or her participation in national pharmacy associations, professional programs, state association activities, and/or community service. 

Presented by National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations and sponsored by Upsher-Smith Laboratories, Inc.
This national award recognizes and honors a qualified pharmacist who has demonstrated significant innovation in their respective practice, method or service directly or indirectly resulting in improved patient care and/or advancement of the profession of pharmacy.

Sponsored and chosen by Sunflower Health Plan
This award recognizes one or more Kansas pharmacists who have made great strides in advocating for and developing MTM services in their pharmacy practice. Developing a practice model that shows above average completion rates of CMR MTM cases by a pharmacy in which the individual practices. Advocating for optimal pharmaceutical care through one or more of the following:

  1. Educating other pharmacists within Kansas regarding practice models related to MTM
  2. Developing and/or holding seminars or training sessions related to MTM
  3. Other advocacy initiatives that improve the health of Kansans through optimal Medication Therapy Management Services

Selected by previous Kansas Bowl of Hygeia winners.
This prestigious award, presented by KPhA, is given to the pharmacist who has compiled an outstanding record of community service, which, apart from his/her specific identification as a pharmacist, reflects well on the profession. The individual must have made considerable contributions in terms of community service which may include involvement in governmental activities separate from, or in addition to, his or her job. Selection is made by previous KPhA Bowl of Hygeia recipients based on the following criteria:

  1. The recipient must be a pharmacist, licensed in Kansas and a member in good standing of the Association.
  2. The recipient must be living. Awards are not presented posthumously.
  3. The recipient has not been a previous recipient of the award.
  4. The recipient is not currently serving nor, has he/she served within the immediate past two years as an officer of the Association in other than an ex-officio capacity.
  5. The recipient has compiled an outstanding record of community service, which, apart from his/her specific identification as a pharmacist, reflects well on the profession.

Sponsored and chosen by the KPhA Government Affairs Committee.
The Champion of Pharmacy Award was first presented by the KPhA Government Affairs Committee in 2006 to recognize and honor those individuals in the political arena or utilizing the political process, who have over the course of their careers, displayed dedication to the profession of pharmacy. They have, through the political process, served as a champion of the profession of pharmacy in their actions, whether it be in or utilizing the executive, legislative, or judicial branches. 

Sponsored and chosen by the Committee on Impaired Pharmacy Practice.
This award honors a staff member, pharmacist, technician, student or intern who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to raising awareness of the dangers of prescription drug abuse, substance use disorder or mental health awareness, among the general public and pharmacy community. The award is also intended to encourage educational prevention efforts aimed at patients, youth, and other members of the community. Selection is made by the Committee on Impaired Pharmacy Practice based on the following criteria:

  1. Recipient must be a KPhA member in good standing.
  2. Recipient must work in or be licensed in the State of Kansas.
  3. Recipient cannot be a past recipient of the Cardinal Health Generation Rx award.

The outstanding Pharmacy Technician Award will be presented to the nominated pharmacy technician that best exemplifies excellence in the performance of their duties, serve to the community, and service to the profession. The nominee must be a member of KPhA in good standing and must work in the state of Kansas. 

The Pharmacist of the Year Award was developed in 1977 by KPhA and is presented annually to a KPhA member. The awardee must be a KPhA member in good standing; a licensed pharmacist in Kansas; have contributed significantly to the advancement of the profession, the goals of KPhA, the reputation of Kansas Pharmacy, or other readily identifiable professional achievements during the year for which the award is given or at least in a reasonably recent time frame which would support the award title of the Pharmacist of the Year. These accomplishments are expected to be in areas other than ones directly related to employment; and be an individual of the highest degree of integrity and recognized as a professional leader. The following conditions apply:

  1. Nominations MUST be accompanied by supportive documentation that illustrates the above criteria. This does not preclude self-nomination.
  2. Receipt of the award does not preclude receiving the award again.
  3. The award should not be presented to the current president, immediate past president, or president-elect of KPhA. (This criterion was included in the original rules).
  4. Every attempt will be made to assure that the award be given each year. If the committee decides that an appropriate awardee cannot be selected from among the nominees, further nominations will be solicited. If this fails, the award will not be made.

Nominated and selected by the KPhA Board of Directors.
The Board of Directors Award is given in recognition of an individual who has given exemplary service for one or more years to the Kansas Pharmacists Association. 

Nominated and selected by the KPhA Board of Directors.
The Board Member of the Year is selected based on various criteria including attendance and participation at meetings, their efforts toward membership recruitment and enthusiasm. Our Board members are key in helping the Association keep members informed and energized. 

Given to the KPhA member who has devoted over a year of their time and talents to the Association by providing leadership and vision for KPhA.

Presented by NASPA and sponsored by the National Community Pharmacists Association.
Given to the KPhA member who will assume the role of providing leadership for our organization and has served as the President-Elect of the KPhA Board of Directors.

KPhA appreciates the generous support provided by

Kansas Pharmacists

Preserving, protecting and advancing Kansas pharmacy practice through education, engagement and advocacy.

Contact Us

  • 1020 SW Fairlawn Road
    Topeka, KS 66604
  • 785.228.2327
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software