Empowering the Voice of Kansas Pharmacy

Log in

Student Pharmacists Representative


  • Support KPhA in its mission to the promote and advance quality and rational public health, with particular reference to assuring optimal pharmacotherapy for the citizens of Kansas (KPhA Bylaws, Article III Section 2).
  • Represent the interest of student pharmacists in supporting their education to become practicing pharmacists with the KPhA Board of Directors.


To enhance student involvement in all practice areas and to help facilitate all students in understanding all of the broad practice areas in pharmacy in the state of Kansas:

  • Community / Independent
  • Retail / Chain
  • Health Systems
  • Managed Care


Membership shall be granted to all student pharmacists who are current students at an accredited school of pharmacy, paid membership dues and are in good standing with the Kansas Pharmacists Association.

All student pharmacists who become a member of the Kansas Pharmacists Association will be placed in the Student Pharmacist Academy as their primary academy.


It is $10 to be a student member. Students can pay KPhA directly or they can pay through joining APhA-ASP (Kansas University School of Pharmacy Chapter). Academy membership shall be valid for one school year ranging from the Fall semester through the end of the following Summer semester.

Academy Leadership (1-year term)

One Academy Chair will be elected to represent the academy as the Chair on the KPhA Board of Directors.

Responsibilities include:

1. Attend full board meetings as scheduled

2. Generate ideas to promote interest in KPhA with student pharmacists

3. Understand the academy charter and the purpose of the academy

4. Identify topics of interest to present to members of the academy

5. Offer guidance to and work well with KPhA staff to plan academy events


Elections will be done by all student pharmacists at any Kansas accredited School of Pharmacy prior to the KPhA Annual Meeting or immediately following the start of the fall semester.

To be eligible for this position the student pharmacist must be a 2nd or 3rd year pharmacy student and not on academic probation.

The student pharmacist must currently be a president or president-elect of APhA-ASP, NCPA or SSHP to be eligible.

Each year the potential six eligible student pharmacists will be contacted by the outgoing Chair of the academy and will request their permission to have their names on the ballot. Elections will be held by either electronic ballot or paper ballot. Elections will be decided by majority vote and ties will be resolved with re-cast of votes.


If the Chairperson can no longer perform the duties of that chair then the Chairperson or KPhA will select someone to finish that term. KPhA bylaws state that if an academy fails to fill its position on the board for two years, the academy shall be deemed to have forfeited Board representation and shall be deemed dissolved upon resolution of the KPhA Board.


Melanie Sharpnack,
KU School of Pharmacy
PharmD Candidate 2021


KPhA appreciates the generous support provided by

Diamond Corporate Members
Silver Corporate Members
Bronze Corporate Members
Compliant Pharmacy Alliance
PBA Health
Pharmacists Mutual

Kansas Pharmacists

Preserving, protecting and advancing Kansas pharmacy practice through education, engagement and advocacy.

Contact Us

  • 1020 SW Fairlawn Road
    Topeka, KS 66604
  • 785.228.2327
  • info@ksrx.org
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software