Empowering the Voice of Kansas Pharmacy

Log in

Latest News

Pharmacy News & Notes

Share your news with KPhA! Submit an announcement.

  • 05/02/2014 12:08 PM | Anonymous

    KS-ASCP Chapter: Call for Nominations

    Deadline May 9, 2014

    The American Society of Consultant Pharmacists is seeking candidates for the following offices:

    • President - 2 year commitment; Current - Nov. 2015 
    • President Elect - 3 year commitment; Nov. 2014 - Nov. 2015 as President Elect; Nov. 2015 - Nov. 2017 as President
    • Secretary/Treasurer - 2 year commitment; Current - Nov. 2015
    • Board Member - 3 positions open; 2 year commitment; Current - Nov. 2015

    The nominees for these offices will serve a term that started in November 2013 when the chapter was officially approved by the ASCP Board of Directors. 


    Other logistics:

    To submit your nomination, download the nominations form here.


    Submit to ASCP via fax/mail/email as indicated on form. 


    Deadline is May 9, 2014


    Visit the ASCP website for more info

  • 05/02/2014 10:00 AM | Anonymous
    We had a great turnout for the KNPN student financial dinner on Tuesday evening. Brandon Capps, Financial Advisor from Velocity Financial Group in Overland Park, KS spoke about how to manage your finances after you graduate. We will have another one next year if you are interested!

  • 04/30/2014 4:46 PM | Anonymous
  • 04/29/2014 11:50 AM | Anonymous
    The Kansas Health Institute wrote an article called: KanCare companies lost money in first year. KPhA member Mike Conlin, owner of Jayhawk Pharmacy and Patient Supply in Topeka, along with Mike Larkin, Executive Director for KPhA were both quoted in the article. 

  • 04/28/2014 3:58 PM | Anonymous
    Governor Sam Brownback is holding a ceremonial signing of HB 2146. The ceremony will be on Wednesday, April 30th at 2 pm at the Kansas State Capitol in the Governor's Ceremonial Office. We hope you can make it!
  • 04/25/2014 12:04 PM | Anonymous

    The Kansas New Practitioners Network (KNPN) is seeking volunteers to form an Executive Committee. Candidates must be new practitioners (graduated from pharmacy school on or after 2004) who are licensed and practicing in Kansas. The length of volunteer commitment is one year.

     Responsibilities of the KNPN Executive Committee include: 

    • Upholding the bylaws, vision, mission, goals, and objectives of KPhA and KNPN
    • Representing KNPN on behalf of its membership
    • Participation in monthly to bimonthly conference calls
    • Attendance at the KPhA Annual Meeting 

    KNPN Executive Committee positions are available:

    • Vice-Chair
    • Member-at-Large: District 1
    • Member-at-Large: District 3
    • Member-at-Large: Districts 2 & 4

    Members at large are expected to reside and practice in their district. A district map can be found here.

    To apply, submit a current resume or CV and statement of interest (250 words or less), including your position(s) of interest to Emily Prohaska, KNPN Chair, at kpha.knpn@gmail.com.

  • 04/25/2014 11:56 AM | Anonymous
    During the KPhA Board meeting last week, it was decided that a Medication Therapy Management Work Group be created to help members incorporate these contributions into the daily work flow at the pharmacy. KPhA Immediate Past-President Merlin McFarland and President-Elect Jim Baumann will Co-Chair the work group. We seek seven other members with an interest in MTM to fill the group. Our goal is to have someone from Mirixa and OutcomesMTM to round out the committee. Ultimately, we want this work group to find solutions that will help pharmacists increase their proficiency when using these platforms. 

    There is a 1-year commitment with a meeting once every quarter (one live and three conference calls). The group requests that members who are interested in joining have experience using these platforms. 

    The first meeting for the MTM Work Group has been tentatively scheduled for Friday, June 20th, with a possible workshop on Saturday, June 21st at the KPhA office. 

    If you are interested, please email mike@ksrx.org.
  • 04/24/2014 2:03 PM | Anonymous
    The KPhA Board of Directors met last Thursday. It was a very detailed and proficient meeting. We at KPhA appreciate all of the time and dedication that our members give us to help the Pharmacy profession advance and thrive in Kansas. Thank you!

    In the picture from left to right:

    Brandi Kelly - Managed Care Academy Chair, Lane Farrell - Student, Bill Wilson - Student Academy Chair, Van Coble - President, Beth Ann Riley - Technician Academy Chair, Merlin McFarland - Immediate Past President, Emily Prohaska - KNPN Chair, Mike Larkin - KPhA Executive Director, Jim Baumann - President Elect
  • 04/24/2014 1:55 PM | Anonymous
    We had a great turn out for the Aligning the Stars - Quality Measures & Community Pharmacy Practice program on April 10th. Dr. Elliott Sogol, Vice President Professional Relations for Pharmacy Quality Solutions (PQS) spoke about how CMS Star Ratings are used/calculated and how pharmacies can improve those ratings to remain in the Medicare Part D preferred networks. Thank you to Cardinal Health for sponsoring the event and also to Emily Prohaska, KNPN Chair and Nate Wiehl, Community Academy Chair. 

    Emily Prohaska, Dr. Sogol, Nate Wiehl
  • 04/24/2014 1:53 PM | Anonymous
    Robb Rosenbaum is the new District 4 Director and has taken the place of Glenn Harte. Robb is the Pharmacist in Charge at DeGoler's Care Midwest Pharmacy in Bonner Springs, KS. Thank you Robb!

KPhA appreciates the generous support provided by

Diamond Corporate Members
Silver Corporate Members
Bronze Corporate Members
Compliant Pharmacy Alliance
PBA Health
Pharmacists Mutual

Kansas Pharmacists

Preserving, protecting and advancing Kansas pharmacy practice through education, engagement and advocacy.

Contact Us

  • 1020 SW Fairlawn Road
    Topeka, KS 66604
  • 785.228.2327
  • info@ksrx.org
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software