Empowering the Voice of Kansas Pharmacy

Log in

KPhA Board of Directors

Executive Committee

President: Kristen Powell, PharmD
Kristen Powell earned a BA in Psychology from Washburn University and a PharmD from the University of Kansas School of Pharmacy. She is the site manager at Genoa Healthcare, located within Family Service and Guidance Center in Topeka. She previously worked for 10 years at Dillons. She sits on the Rural Nursing/Rx Technician Task Force with the Kansas Board of Pharmacy. She is married and has two girls ages 3 and 7. Kristin volunteers with Christian Challenge at Washburn University, New Hope Food Pantry in Topeka, various events for Kansas Ballet Company, and her church.

President-Elect: Dared Price, PharmD
Dared Price was born and raised in Elk City, OK. After graduating high school, he attended the University of Oklahoma in Norman, OK, where he met his wife Renee. He graduated from the University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy in 2008. He entered a partnership with Osborn Drugs in 2010 and the partnership purchased Graves Drugs Stores in Winfield, KS, and Ark City, KS. In 2019, Dared and Renee also purchased the Damm Pharmacies located in Andover, KS; Rose Hill, KS; and Derby, KS. Dared serves on many committees and boards including being past president of the William Newton Hospital Foundation Board and serving on the NCPA technology committee. Dared and Renee have 3 children Landon (8), Preston (5) and Greyson (3).

Secretary-Treasurer: Sloane Freeman, PharmD

Immediate Past-President: Nate Rockers, PharmD
Nate Rockers received his Pharm D. degree from the University of Kansas in 2002. Since graduation he has practiced in Miami County Kansas. In 2009 Nate purchased an independent pharmacy in Paola. He expanded in 2012 with another store in Miami County, and in 2016 opened a third location in Linn County. Nate currently sits on various community, national and professional boards and committees. Nate enjoys spending time with his family and friends at the lake, on his farm managing his cattle operation, as well as golfing.

Academy and Affiliated Directors

Voting Board Members

Community Academy Director: Heath Kerr, PharmD
Heath was born and raised in Topeka, Kansas and attended Topeka West High School. Following high school, Heath graduated and received his bachelor’s degree in pharmacy from the University of Kansas in 1990. Heath followed his father’s (Hoyt Kerr) footsteps into pharmacy and credits his dad as the reason he entered the profession. He has worked in chain retail pharmacy for most of his career before entering a clinical role as PIC at Genoa Healthcare Pharmacy in Wichita, Kansas. Heath is married to Tracy, and they have two adult children, Haleigh and Hunter.

Health-System Academy Director: Adam Henn, PharmD
Adam received his Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Kansas School of Pharmacy in 2018 and Master of Health Care Administration from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee in 2020. He completed a combined PGY1/PGY2 health system pharmacy administration and leadership residency at Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee, WI. He is currently a Pharmacy Operations Manager at the University of Kansas Health System in the Retail/Ambulatory department. Adam enjoys spending time with his wife Katie, family, and friends.

Managed Care Academy Director: Micha Bastian, PharmD
PIC, Genoa Healthcare Company #00077, Shawnee, KS

Owners Academy Director: Julie Keeton, PharmD
Julie Keeton received her PharmD from the University of Kansas in 2012 and has worked in independent retail since. As owner of Kiowa County Pharmacy, Julie is a vocal independent pharmacy advocate. She also serves on the CURRUS board of directors in addition to being a KU preceptor. She is married and has three ornery boys. She and her husband also are foster parents from time to time and have worked with other foster parents in the community to form Foster Kiowa County, an organization designed to support foster parents and those seeking to become foster parents.

At-Large 1 Board Member: Savanna Anschutz, PharmD
Pharmacist, B&K Prescription Shop, Salina, KS

At-Large 2 Board Member: Scott Smith, PharmD
Scott Smith earned his Doctor of Pharmacy and a minor in business from the University of Kansas School of Pharmacy and School of Business in 2012. He currently is the information technology pharmacist for the ambulatory pharmacy support team at the University of Kansas Health System. He serves as the clinical support person for both the retail pharmacies as well as the ambulatory clinics and is responsible for combining his knowledge of medications and technology to advance the quality of patient care within the health system. He previously worked for 5 years for Safeway Pharmacy in Colorado before moving back to Kansas City. Scott got his start in pharmacy at the age of 14 when he started working as a clerk for his local independent pharmacy. Scott is a member of the University of Kansas Health System Pharmacy Informatics residency review committee and is preceptor for KU and UMKC Schools of Pharmacy.

Kansas Pharmacy Foundation President: Jim Baumann, RPh
Account Director, Pfizer Inc., Overland Park, KS

Nonvoting Board Members

Kansas New Practitioners Network Director: Tessa Schnelle, PharmD
Tessa Schnelle was born and raised in Center Point, IA. After graduating high school, she attended the MidAmerica Nazarene University where she earned a BA in Psychology. Afterwards, Tessa spent a decade working in Human Resources for Target Corporation, where she met her husband, Deric. She graduated with her PharmD from the University of Kansas School of Pharmacy in 2020. Following graduation she began working as a clinical pharmacist for Western Missouri Medical Center. Tessa also serves as a New Practitioner Mentor for the University of Kansas APhA-ASP Chapter, committee member for Phi Lamba Sigma - Pharmacy Leadership Society, and on the Staff Parish Relations Committee for the Church of the Resurrection in Leawood, KS. Tessa and Deric live in Louisburg, KS with their 3 children Dayton (11), Denver (10) and Dallas (8).

Technician Council Director: Morgan Moellinger
Morgan Moellinger is a nationally certified technician at El Dorado TrueCare Pharmacy. Where she has worked for almost four years. She started out as a clerk originally and fell in love with everything about pharmacy. Shortly after starting at TrueCare she was promoted to a technician, then to co-lead for technicians at her store. She said, "I enjoy my job, and that is a pretty lucky thing to say. I can't wait to see the way pharmacy, as a whole, continues to grow, and for me to grow with it!"

KU School of Pharmacy Representative: Ron Ragan, Dean
Ronald Ragan earned his BS in Pharmacy (1984), MS in Pharmacology (1997) and Ph.D. in Pharmacology (1998) from the KU School of Pharmacy. He became Dean of the School of Pharmacy in 2019.

Student Representative: Manisha Ravi, PharmD Candidate 2023
University of Kansas School of Pharmacy, Lawrence, KS

KPhA appreciates the generous support provided by

Kansas Pharmacists

Preserving, protecting and advancing Kansas pharmacy practice through education, engagement and advocacy.

Contact Us

  • 1020 SW Fairlawn Road
    Topeka, KS 66604
  • 785.228.2327
  • info@ksrx.org
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software